Keep Your Eyes Peeled.

My Year In Review Pt. 1

Posted in Uncategorized by johnnysimon on December 28, 2009

For many, 2009 was the last great rattle of a transformative decade.  For my generation transformative is the only adjective that comes to mind that can adequately summarize the fear, the bitterness, the leaps forward, the leaps backward and the light at the end of the tunnel. If anything it was the ten years in which we were all going to grow up in anyway, it was by mere chance some of the greatest shifts in culture, politics and technology happened before our very eyes.  This decade did something to the collective us, and 2009 was that last push, and for me it was certainly the most difficult, the most important and the most productive.

This is my year.  I started 2009 unsure of where I was going to be, just trying to finish out my last year in school.  Where I found myself though, was many places.  These are some personal and mostly unpublished images from 2009.

Here’s part one.

Red Line Metro Train, January 19th, 2009. Washington DC

January 20, 2009. Washington DC

Jeff's Room. Athens, Ohio.

April, 2009 Hocking Hills Mennonite Church. Logan, Ohio.

April 2009. Jeff and Andy shooting pool. The Union. Athens, Ohio

Joe performing. I'll go on record and say the man is one of my favorite musicians and a great friend.

Post-Bonfire at Emily, Matt and Ben's on Peachridge Road in Athen. Probably some Springsteen playing.

Larry.

Risa and some 3D glasses.

Ryan. Running in our awesome front yard. I'll miss that fence a lot.

I spent Easter with the Mennonites. Still some of the nicest people I've met.

A baby doll we used to throw around a lot. I think this is before we blew it up with fireworks.

For Real Fest. Athens, Ohio

Toast. Athens, Ohio.

More to come.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Peter said, on December 30, 2009 at 6:55 am

    You are really an amazing photographer, Johnny.


Leave a Reply

